22 comments on “Lawn Fungus… again…

    • Thank you for that, I looked up Bolete and the porous underside of them is very similar. I will have to do some more research.
      I have tried to look them up before but they have no particular characteristic that makes them easy to search for. Large brown fungus doesn’t really help to narrow it down! 🙂

    • That is what I always think of too. If only they were a little more sturdy I would have used something more substantial than a Lego man to be my size model. 😀

  1. Holy moly! That’s huge, and very cool to see what it would be without the slime stage. I can’t sit to see if it gets any bigger. I wonder what happend to the other one to cause it to shrink like that.

    • I think the other one shrivelled because when it reached the end of its life we were in a dry patch of weather so there was no moisture around to make it soggy. I am tempted to pick it and see how long it lasts as a dried mushroom but I have resisted in order to let nature take its course.

      It was cool to see them make it through without turning to slime. I wonder if this giant one will shrivel or slime? I checked it this morning and despite a night of rain it is still there, unexploded. I wonder how big it will end up? Hmmmm… Might have to get my ruler. 😀

  2. Holy $hit! That’s bigger than a dinner plate. Actually that would make a great footstool. I’ve never seen anything like that in my life. I wonder if the fungus experts even know about it. You may have discovered something brand new. 😀

    Thanks for sharing Metan. Could I suggest that you keep taking photos of this monster for the record? If you can capture it’s whole life-cycle we might be able to discover what it is. 🙂

    • Glad you liked it! I am a mushroom/fungus lover and look out for them wherever I go but I have never seen anything like these guys anywhere else either. Of course it could be that no-one else is as tolerant of them (or as neglectful of their grass) and they just get mowed or stomped on.

      As we had a record amount of them this year I wonder what next year will bring? I wonder if at some time in the future I will be cursing our tolerance as they take over the whole garden with puddles of wiggly slime…. 😉

      • lol – I’m pretty grass tolerant too but I’ve never seen anything like them on any of the blocks out here. I suspect your soil has a colony of them, and they may be unique.

        • Mushrooms are actually the fruit of a fungus that is growing underground, living on an underground host. In this case I expect it is dependant on the roots of the gum tree on the fenceline.
          Annoyingly, I really want to get rid of that tree as it is looming over my car park! If the mushrooms keep growing attractively I might just risk my car getting squashed to keep them going though. 🙂

          • lmao! Only you would say something like that. :p

            Oh and I’ve learned something today. I thought mushrooms and fungus were synonymous. I had no idea the mushrooms were actually the fruit part.

          • Glad I could share some (almost) useless information. 😉
            Yes, every time you are standing near a mushroom you are really likely to be walking over the top of the actual ‘plant’, and you are just looking at the fruit!
            The biggest fungus I have found is in Oregon and is over 8km sq. The largest living organism in the world!

            The world is definitely an amazing place. 😀

          • It is, isn’t it. In reality we humans are really just a few tiny parasites on the skin of the earth.

            Considering that each of us have more microscopic critters living on our skin than there are humans on the planet we really are insignificant! Except for me of course. And you. And our families. And you, person reading this right now. And anyone important to you. Apart from that though, the rest are insignificant…. 😉

  3. I can’t believe I’m saying this but I looked up boletus (phlebopus) marginatus on wiki, and it’s fascinating…”The weight of one specimen from western Victoria recorded at 29 kg (64 pounds).” and “As with many Australian mushrooms, Phlebopus marginatus is not widely eaten although recorded in several publications as edible and mild tasting or bland. Australian mushroom expert Bruce Fuhrer warns of its propensity to be maggot-ridden” but “It is consumed in Laos, northern Thailand, Myanmar and southern China,[16] namely the tropical areas of Yunnan province, where excessive picking for markets has depleted wild populations. Its large size and flavour make it a desired mushroom in markets in the Xishuangbanna region.”

    If you could confirm that you definitely have boletus (phlebopus) marginatus growing, you could harvest them, the maggot free ones anyway, and sell them at the markets!

    Regardless, how cool you have such interesting things growing in your yard. I’m sure lego Man agress with me and says… “look at me, I’m king of the mushroom” 🙂

    • I was just reading that too! The thought of eating them is in no way desirable to me…. the maggots… yuck. Although I would be game to try one if I had a professional advisor assuring me they were indeed safe and they were having half the dish with me. 😉

      I found quite a few photos of ones bigger than mine too. They were mostly undamaged whereas mine always get chomped early on. I wonder if it is because those ones were from a drier place than us? I have really noticed the difference in this second round of growth, the others have always come up when it is wet but these ones have had a pretty dry run so far and have been much the better for it.

      The Lego man probably did feel quite heroic, they don’t get out much. I armed him with a stick to beat off the Jumping Jacks that were surrounding the first one I photographed him near. 😀

    • We have some interesting ones in the garden but this one takes the cake for the amount of area overrun. I’m glad we don’t have hugely spreading ones like you described though. A few giant ones are interesting, a mushy carpet, not so much.

  4. Pingback: R.I.P giant mushroom. | Buried words and Bushwa.

Tell me something!

