21 comments on “R.I.P giant mushroom.

    • I turned my back for a day and it all fell apart!

      The kids have been checking it each night when they get home from school as it is right near where I park my car.
      They were delighted to see it so big and amazed to see it collapse within hours. They have seen it before but they never tire of it. 😀

      • Is it like a puff ball, which we have, where that’s how it releases its spores? We had fun as children on the occasions we would find a puff ball as every time you squeeze it it releases a puff (presumably of spores) like a smoker.

        • Underneath the cap is just a mass of pores and that is where the spores are released, thank goodness they aren’t like puffballs, we have them here too, they are only as big as a table tennis ball though. Imagine the size of the clouds of spores if you knocked one and it was this big! Eeeek!

  1. I have to say that is the most disgusting death scene I’ve ever um… seen. 😀 It’s great you know its name now. Does this mean you have Salmon Gum trees in your garden??

    • The gum tree that it is closest to and the others nearby don’t seem to be Salmon Gums so maybe it is on an extended holiday!
      I guess gum trees are quite similar so it probably isn’t too much of a stretch to colonize a different type. Who knows, it might be a different type altogether.

      The information I found was not overly extensive, it seemed that most of the sites I found were done by enthusiastic amateurs rather than experts and I couldn’t find a .gov or a museum entry anywhere.

      I will have to keep looking for better references and see if I can find more information.

      • Well at least you have a starting point now. I wonder if these guys can be found anywhere else in your area? Maybe it’s the last of its kind, surviving in the Metan sanctuary. 🙂

  2. p.s. just noticed that neat widget you’ve got in your sidebar – the one the displays blog posts. I’d love to have something like that. Can you tell me which one it is?

  3. Glad to have been of help… the Boletes over here are much smaller and are also popular with maggots, but if you pick them the edible ones small, they are delicious. Ceps (Boletus edulis), for example, are highly sought after to eat.
    However, your specimen seems to have well and truly expired, so maybe next year!

    • Apparently these ones are sought after in some Asian countries, leading to them being quite depleted in the wild. I gues they would be a good meal because of their size and they are supposed to have a nice taste. All I could smell when I was out there today was the vague aroma of bad dog breath so I doubt tasting one is in my future! 🙂

  4. Ah, the end comes to us all but thankfully our lifespan is longer than that of the giant mushroom. It had a good life though, despite its sticky demise. “the vague aroma of bad dog breath” had me laughing… let’s see an advertising campaighn built on that!

    • 🙂 imagine how much risotto you could get out of one of them!

      I think that you would get so many dishes from a single one that you would never want to eat a mushroom again. 🙂

Tell me something!

