17 comments on “Strange things falling from the sky. 1930.

    • I love strange stories but an alligator? Too much. I can just imagine a small boy dreaming of wrestling an angry reptile into the elevator and then shoving it out of the window onto unsuspecting pedestrians…
      Can you imagine how you would feel now if a little ratbag threw a water bomb onto you while you were out? I can see you storming up there and throwing him out of his own window while you scream “Do you know how much this jacket cost?” after him 😀

  1. It happened, in Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, with a whale. It ended up as whale meat when it hit the ground… which rhymes with round. The whale’s last thoughts were: “I wonder if it will be friends with me?”

    • I loved that bit 🙂 I don’t think there wouldn’t be any witnesses to that event though, I think the impact and aftermath would take out anyone within sight of it!

      I would be more likely to believe the alligator rain if it didn’t have the word ‘live’ in the story. If they reported an alligator shaped hole in the ground, filled with mush, then I would be more likely to go along with it! 🙂

  2. “Toto, I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore.”
    Tornadoes pick up and fling an wild assortment of people, animals and objects (houses, cars, etc.) Not sure if they are a normal weather pattern in Australia, but in some areas of the U.S they are part of summer. Not so much where I live, but there was one not far from the city last week (on Long Island) and once in a while there’s an Amazing Story on the local news about a tornado swooping down and pulling up trees. Crazy, scary in a city.

    I’ll bet more than a few of the “falling from the sky” tales started with Twisters!

    • We get winds called willy-willys here, they are like a very watered down version of a tornado and are more entertaining than harmful.

      I can see that tornadoes would be guilty of a few ‘falling from the sky’ stories but they are pretty indiscriminate aren’t they? You don’t get a rain of cows without also having to dodge haystacks and the occasional stray piece of house or farm machinery.

      It is the selectiveness of these fish or frog showers that is interesting. Often they are reported to only contain a single species of creature. I am not sure if this is because the one doing the identifying just looks for generalized fishiness and says “yep, all the same” or if they really are the same type.

      Either way I would like to see one with my own eyes, everyone else will be standing there going “wow! frogs!” and I will be the one collecting evidence, saying “I’m not sure there is enough wind for this, where is the pond weed, how far away is the nearest body of water? CAN SOMEONE GET ME A BOWL!!” 😀

  3. -giggles- You have a real way with words Metan – ‘unless that body part had already been amputated…..’ cracked me up. Both cats and the dog looked up in fright as I sat here cackling. Nice one. 😀

    • 😀 Can you imagine finding buttery blobs in your garden one day and deciding that they would probably do your manky leg or arm the world of good!? Blimey…..

      If I found a roast dinner and all the trimmings in the garden, having fallen from the sky I wouldn’t be likely to feed it to the dog, let alone the family, so there is no way a blob of unidentifiable origin is going to get smeared on me!

Tell me something!