21 comments on “Hoop snake attack. 1884.

  1. Personally, reading the story, the girl’s brother seems more dangerous than the snake – like a true knight in shining armour he swooped onto the scene, revived his sister, killed the snake, and saved the day.

    Guess this young hero’s name slipped the correspondent’s usually retentive memory too…

    • I was impressed with the correspondents memory for numbers, he remembered exactly the measurements of the snake, but less impressed with his memory for names!

      What a heroic brother he was, although the poor girl had to run nearly a mile towards him before he was of any help….

  2. lmao – ‘far too self-conscious to hunt in the traditional manner’?!? Just thinking about a snake with a self-esteem problem makes me smile. 😀

    • I really think that the idea of them wheeling frantically along, then unleashing the tail of death without everything coming crashing down more often than not is a big part of why sightings of the hoop snake are so rare. I doubt they would eat too often…. 😉

  3. I’m wondering why on earth The Maitland Mercury and Hunter River General have an interest & report on such things on the other side of the world. I’ve noticed other incidents similar in similar posts. Surely even local domestic news, is more relevant than this but I guess it still goes on… we could live without reading about this http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/world/thieves-stole-my-driveway-victim-tells-police/story-fnddckzi-1226536544824

    • When I find articles like this I generally have quite a choice of obscure papers to take my clip from. The same article, word for word, will be printed in many papers around the same time, I see it as an early form of retweeting!

      There are hundreds of digitized papers and the names are, at times, ridiculous. Sometimes I wonder why they didn’t use a shorter name for a paper….”Euroa Advertiser and Violet Town, Longwood, Avenel, Strathbogie, Balmattam and Miepoll Gazette”.

      I can only hope they have consolidated a group of papers for the digitization process and that this was not the masthead for one small paper. The front page would have been too heavy to lift before the first bit of news was even printed!

      As for the stolen driveway story…. I bet there are many more obscure and interesting snippet of Australian news they could share with us. This is all part of the Americanizing of the world. We do it to ourselves! News outlets could easily find Australian (or insert any country here) events worth reporting on, but they just take what has already been reported by a larger news service and use it as though it is pertinent to us. Lazy reporting!

      Actually, I remember some years ago thieves stole an entire bluestone laneway in Melbourne. Same story, people saw them but they looked like workers so no-one questioned it!

  4. I have never even heard of hoop snakes! You have such interesting wildlife on the other side of the world – we have pigeons and squirrels. Any interesting urban tales about pigeons and squirrels?

    • Hmmm… I’ll have to look for some squirrel or pigeon tales!

      I think Hoop snakes are more of an American story than Australian. Whenever I hear about these incidents I can imagine a long-ago child wheeling their hoop down a dusty track when suddenly it turns into the terrifying hoop snake and chases them all the way home. 🙂

    • Thanks so much for that decoy spider link, I have never heard of such a thing! What an effort from a tiny spider, building a larger ‘dummy’ spider to hang out in its web. The world IS an amazing place 😀

        • It certainly is! Was a spider just hanging out in the web one day and decided if he was bigger the other spiders wouldn’t pick on him?! I wonder how long they have been doing it for, millennia or is it a recently developed thing? I guess we’ll never know.

  5. Your imagery is brilliant and very funny. It would be rather funny to see one of these snakes wheeling down the road.

  6. I am familiar with the legend of the hoop snake; my kids know my propensity for tall tales so don’t believe me when I try to describe such a creature, but I had a few friends in high school who bought hook, line and sinker the idea of such a beast. I didn’t necessarily hang around with a very bright lot, I might add.

    • My kids are the same, suspicious of every story that seems a little off. I love that there are still people out in the world that are willing to believe though.

      I guess some of the real creatures we have in the world are unusual or amazing enough (like Emma’s spider link in the comment above) and the person who doesn’t think it through will believe yet another strange story without too much convincing.

Tell me something!

