16 comments on “Some new dinner guests.

  1. I love Rainbow Lorikeets, even the deafening noise of a flock! reminds me that I made it; after thirty years dreaming I got my visa and emigrated to the sub tropics where parrots are not just in cages but in amongst my trees 🙂 I did once read of a Pommie who ‘just had to go back’ to the motherland because he couldn’t stand the sound of any Australian birds and missed the Larks amongst the hedgerows. I believe you can get medication for that, or at the very least listen to recordings of starlings if you’re particularly homesick….or stupid. Vive Le difference I say! Our neighbours have a pecan tree which attracts the ultimate squawker, the Sulphur Crested Cockatoo, and a pair of pale headed Rosellas who make a beautiful and more soothing sound. I’d be lost without my soundtrack of Australia 🙂

    • We do our best to discourage the Cockatoos, they are so destructive and such bullies aren’t they? The rest though, we can’t get enough of them!
      Even when the parrots are at their noisiest and most annoying I still love to hear them and I can’t imagine that you would move to Australia and then whine about being homesick for the bird noises of Ol’ Blighty. Perhaps another misguided soul who just thought Australia was the same as home, just further away and with more sun?

      I am working on encouraging the magpies now, I love their warbling call. 😀

  2. I’ve seen the Scaly Breasted Lorikeets but didn’t relise they were different to the usual suspects, I thought just a variation in pattern. I am fascinated by the various persoanlties of the native birds, and the hierachies. The G.O. always uses Kookaburra’s as a metaphor for family occasions as numbers count for the Kooka’s. I liken my family to the Rainbow Lorries… noisy & love their food 🙂
    We love the maggies too. Our’s need no encouragement, they are the boss of the food scrap area behind the back fence, and the bird bath pot saucer adjacent.

    • As we all gathered at the window to have a look we had quite a lengthy debate about the same thing. We suspected that they were a few hardy girlfriends who had followed the boys out for the night (all the Rainbows look the same, can’t tell if they are only boys, only girls, or a mix). After much speculation I got out the bird book and looked them up and proved us all wrong.

      If I hadn’t this post would have been an entirely incorrect one about how grumpy the males are with the females as the squabbling was pretty epic.

      I like the G.O.’s Kooka metaphor, ours are a bit the same, lots of noise and eating 😀

      Our Maggies are pretty shy which is a surprise. In the past the families have been ridiculously friendly but I think the neighbour cat ruined that. I will have to get them back though, there is something about that oogleoogle warble that I love 🙂

      • We have been delighted that the magpies have moved into our inner city area. Not only are they majestic, with a delightful call, but they keep the Indian Mynahs at bay — and that has got to be A GOOG THING!!

    • I agree. If it had managed to catch one I would have said ‘everythings got to eat’ but I am pleased that it had to dine elsewhere.

    • I ran for my camera but it was gone by the time I rushed back. Hopefully I get another opportunity but I don’t like my chances 😦

  3. A bird watcher’s paradise, is what your home sounds like. It sounds as if the birds are spreading the word around and turning your yard into a bird sanctuary.

    • I think that as soon as a few start getting used to hanging around more will follow, of course the amount of noise they make won’t help them keep their gravy train quiet! 😀

    • The King Parrots have big black eyes and because of that seem very peaceful. These Scalys and the Rainbows have mad, red eyes and always look like they are about to go crazy. Some birds definitely seem to be only a short step away from their dinosaur heritage that’s for sure.

  4. An update that I think you will like…..The parking area at my gym (yes, I do go there sometimes!) has a huge gum tree. As it is flowering, it was covered in rainbow lorikeets. However I could only know they were there because of their screeching. Even though they are so brightly coloured they were really well camouflaged. As I was walking home (exhausted, I might add!) I found a feather under the tree. I love feathers, and intend to paint this little beauty very soon. A gift from the lorikeets!

    • I have noticed that we rarely find their feathers in the garden despite their squabbling. You have a real treasure there, and I have loved your feather drawings in the past 😀

      I can see the Lorries in our ti-trees during the day and they are very still and quiet, no matter how brightly coloured they are they are surprisingly well hidden if they keep their noise down! I can imagine that a flowering gum would be the perfect environment for such brightly coloured critters to hide in, even if they are still noisy!

Tell me something!

