14 comments on “Yippee! Lemony success!

  1. I love the idea of you resurrecting the tree like that and hope this time next year it’s ready to say thank you.Well done to you and to some well aimed jets from son #2. xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    • I hope it thanks me with lemons too, so does the Man, he love fresh lemon on his fish. If the revival is dependent on Number 2 the tree should go quite well. 🙂

    • I am intent on the garden being better at retaining water this summer. I spent the whole day Saturday mulching everything that stood still! I was scared that the wind would come up and blow the lot over the whole neighbourhood before I had a chance to hose it and stick it down. 🙂

      I really hope the lemon tree comes back and grows well. I even bought it a new friend, a dwarf lemon tree in a big pot. Yes, buying another lemon tree kind of defeats the purpose of reviving it but I can’t abandon the old one in favour of a new one. I can’t see another lemon tree in any nearby gardens either so I will need an extra one for pollinating if I ever want to get lemons.

      • Be great if the lemon tree comes back and grows, good idea to get another one as well, like you said for pollinating. Glad you got the mulching done and the wind held off for a bit. Always so rewarding to see everything taking shape.

  2. It looks like you’ve had a victory, and your tree has responded rapidly to your TLC. A lemon tree is a garden essential, both for eating and for the male of the species to pee on. I love that some traditions still linger 🙂 At the sight of the new shoot, I would be getting ahead of myself and planning all sorts of wondrous lemony delights in addition to my daily half a lemon in hot water drink, lemon butter just being the start… when the bush lemons are on at TA, I just can’t resist making some.

    • I know what you mean. I am getting ahead of myself and planning all kinds if things to do with the lemons I imagine will be in such abundance they will be rolling down the hill. My minor success with the old lemon tree has me getting big ideas that seem to be leaning towards a completely unnecessary small citrus orchard. At this very moment I am trying to talk myself out of buying a finger lime on the Diggers website. No, I don’t need another plant. Do I want it? Most definitely. 😀 Curse you internet shopping!!!

  3. We have a very unhappy lemon tree in a pot, which certainly needs some TLC as it has never managed a mature fruit and seems to be producing gradually fewer and fewer leaves. However, we also have a lime and over two years we have had three limes… it means each once cost over £10, but I still love it!

    • I felt so guilty that I was putting so much effort into all the other plants and letting the poor lemon slip away. I wasn’t sure my efforts would be in any way successful but I’m happy to see that there is something positive happening to it. You can probably blame your man if you like, for not paying enough visits to yours. 😉

      They are expensive limes, I hope they were nice though. You never know, they both might come back to life and deliver the piles of fruit you are hoping for. 😀

      Our last rented house was very very old and had a large lemon tree in the back garden that we completely neglected but was still covered in beautiful sweet fruit all year. We never appreciated it as much as we should have. I would love this one to turn out like that. An unlikely dream, but at the very least I’m hoping I could get a few lemons from it in the future.

  4. Lemonade, Lemon Pound Cake with Lemon Curd, Lemon Meringue Pie, Lemon Sorbet, Lemon Chicken, Perserved Lemon (for Moroccan cooking) and Lemon slices in an Aperol Spritz!

    Do I like lemons? Yes. I hope you enjoy a bountiful & lemony season!

Tell me something!

