29 comments on “Out in the garden.

  1. Oh wow, I don’t think your investment at Bunnings was a mistake at all… nor the time spent otherwise than on your blog. It looks like hours & dollars well spent to me, imagine in a month or 2 all those lovely veges, salads and how happy The Man will be in rhubarb, apple and strawberry heaven.
    What’s sad is the recent Sunday when we went to Bunnings and bought not a thing at all except for sausage sandwiches from the fundraiser out the front, for breakfast.

    • A visit to Bunnings with no money spent! I wonder if you are the first people ever to do that? 😉 Going there is like surrendering all control, we always walk out with at least a few things we didn’t have any intention of buying when we left home. And a sausage too. 😀

      Because of the bags of potting mix it took two trolleys to get everything back to the car, wonderful stuff! Of course, I can’t afford to go back there for the rest of the year now…

      It has been so lovely to see all of the plants coming up or fruiting and this is the first time I have had so many successes. To go out and get veg to put straight in the dinner is so satisfying.
      I’m sure your gardening budget will be destroyed in a similar way once you are gardening full time at TA! 😀

      • I grabbed a little coriander from the apartment complex herb garden last night – even that is better than nothing.
        I dream of a garden like yours.
        Our Bunnings visit was to check out a new whiz bang electric screwdriver, which was a disappointment, but we did some scoping for future projects.
        I had hoped to put in some hardy plants like rosemary, lavender and lemongrass at TA this Christmas but we’ve had no rain, so I’m not sure if even what’s there has survived, and the forecast is for a dry hot summer.

        • Bunnings is good for scoping out those new projects, those projects seem to blow up hugely when under the influence of those aisles and aisles of wonderful things though, don’t they!

          I have never grown lemongrass before but we have both rosemary and lavender and they are the most neglected plants in the garden. Still thriving though! Give them a go, as long as they are established before the real heat they should grow.
          Our lavender grows alongside the front path in full sun in beds barely wide enough to fit a shovel in and have paving on both sides. They were there when we moved in 15ish years ago and have probably been watered three or four times since. They get big enough to start restricting the path and get hacked back to knee level only to grow again. They have started slowing down now so we might have to replace them in a few years but I think they’ve had a very good run.

          The rosemary is about 12years old and grows alongside some steps and about 2m from the spot where the Man does his burning off. It gets cooked by the fire regularly, rarely gets watered and that particular spot must have had something horrible in the soil as about five plants were killed within days in that spot before we tried the rosemary. It flourished. 😀 Annoying though, I don’t really like rosemary!

          You could try a Bay tree. I have two in small pots who desperately need more space (I must plant them somewhere!). They have been on the steps for years and seem to keep on going no matter what. They go in all my stews which is why I needed two, one winter the first one was nearly stripped bare! 🙂

          I’m not looking forward to a hot dry summer, I think my grey water hose will be getting a good workout once the weather warms up….

          • I have a bay tree, or at least I did last time I looked. I managed to kill a rosemary – too close to the tank I think during the endless wet weather we had, and we also had the raggediest looking lavender I’ve ever seen. Poor choice on my part. I pulled it out. I will try again, it’s just being there long enough to get them established. I rely on summer rains for that usually.
            I’m debating lemongrass in garden, or to wait and put it in a pot, as apparently it can get away.
            We’re going up in October, so we’ll see how everything else is doing. All I have to do to give me patience is think how much I’ve spent on dead plants.

          • Oh yes, the dead plants. I try to look at each failure (and there have been many. Many many…) as a shovelful of good soil and a little bit of compost added to the garden rather than the disaster it is. 😉
            If I look at how much money I have spent on them I could have probably got in a landscaper to do a proper job of it. Where would the fun be in that though, right?
            It will be soon enough that you and the G.O. will be able to look after the TA garden full-time, and it will probably be all the more satisfying for the wait.

  2. If the man is suggesting rhubarb and strawberry tart I’m with him. Just put a nice size portion on my plate please and be as heavy with the custard as you like. I’m having a rhubarb mousse for breakfast and there’s just enough sharpness in it to make it really enjoyable.

    It sounds like your time away from the blog has been well spent but I can tell you w feel neglected. You owe us some great posts now.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • I’m not sure The Man will be too happy to share but I’m sure his waistline will appreciate your sacrifice. 😉 Rhubarb mousse? For breakfast? I’m hoping that mousse is something different over there as here mousse is usually chocolate or strawberry and served after dinner! That’s my kind of breakfast. 😀

      Apologies for neglecting you. 🙂 hugs.

  3. I’m trying to unsubscribe from this site and you do not make it easy! I’ve tried several times but no go. There has to be an easy way?? can you do it for me or tell me the secret. John

    • Sorry to hear that. I’m afraid I can’t actually unsubscribe you myself (if only I could weed out some of those spam followers I would be very happy!) There should be a link on the bottom of the notification email you get that takes you to where you can unsubscribe yourself though.
      If not, you should be able (when you are logged in under your WordPress account) to go to the grey bar at the top of my blog and click on the bit that says ‘Following’ and change it to back to ‘Follow’.

    • The easiest way to unsubscribe from a blog is to go to ‘Reader’ on the WordPress website, then choose ‘Edit’ next to ‘Blogs I follow’ on the right-hand side of the screen. The list of blogs will then appear and you can just click on the cross next to any you want to unsubscribe from. I did it recently for several blogs and it seems to have worked without any problem.

  4. I am so envious of your garden (even if I am tootling around the Grampians!). It sounds gloriously productive. Isn’t being able to pick your own food a special feeling?

    • I am envious of you and your travels! Never happy, are we?
      It is wonderful to pick your own veg, it makes all the hauling around of dirt and being nettle spiked worthwhile. 😀

    • The garden we had when we moved in all those years ago was so barren and dry, the only things that grew were what could withstand the ants and cling to life in the clay. There have been many many heavy wooden sleepers, holes dug and wheelbarrows of bought soil hauled up the hill to the garden beds and spread around the place to make things grow!
      When I finally see successes like this it is amazingly satisfying and makes all the effort worthwhile. There is a huge satisfaction in even the smallest garden isn’t there? Even when my veg garden consisted of nothing more than a few pots on the verandah I still got a huge amount of pleasure out of it. 😀

      • It’s great to see a garden transform like that, watching everything take shape and grow over time. I don’t have a very big garden, but always enjoy spending time there, and get great satisfaction from it as well.

        • It certainly is. There are times I look out of the window and just marvel at how green it is. I can still see that original barren clay in my minds eye so to see all the natural growth along with what we have planted is fantastic. 😀

  5. Lots of garden type stuff happening in Warrandyte as well. 🙂 I have just one last patch of capeweed to dig up and I’m then ready to plant lucerne in all the new bare spots. This is a shameless attempt to ensure the alpacas keep the area around the house mowed to within an inch of its life. [They LOVE lucerne]. Most of the important winter weeding is done too. Now I just have to mulch. I had a brainstorm earlier this year when I read how good lucerne was for the soil. So instead of mulching with pea straw that takes a long time to break down [and could potentially burn] I’m going to use the alpaca feed I buy in. It’s made of lucerne chaff and is very fine. As soon as you water it, this chaff starts breaking down.

    Now if only there were more hours in the day… -sigh-

    • Oh yes, you just get into something and it seems it is time to pack up!

      This weather has been completely glorious, hasn’t it? I love it when it is sunny but isn’t hot, it makes the heavy work more enjoyable when you aren’t frying out there.

      The Lucerne sounds like a good idea. My young helper was telling me all about the oats his dad had planted in a paddock to dig back in and give it a bit of a boost. They have recently moved onto a block of ten acres and are starting all the fruit and veg planting and are contemplating some cows. A block that size would be fantastic wouldn’t it!

      • 10 acres is a lot! I definitely wouldn’t want to slash that much. lol I wonder why they want cows. For milk? Many years ago a friend of mine up in Selby kept a milking goat but the twice a day milking eventually got to be a bit much. I think I prefer grazers you can more or less set and forget. 🙂

Tell me something!

