28 comments on “Spring is here…. well, kind of.

  1. Your Tall Greenhood Orchid is well camouflaged which might work well in some circumstances but it’s lucky you have such an eye. Truly a spectacular orchid, and your close-up is fantastic. I could sort of see it in the first shot when I zoomed in but was happy you gave us a closer look.
    I thought the same thing, we are clearly still in winter but the flowers in the Botanic Gardens are definitely preparing for spring 🙂

    • It was quite windy too so in the wide photo it is blurry from being blown around. I almost used a clearer photo but in those ones it was completely invisible!
      They are amazingly good at hiding, I often think that it is likely everyone in the neighbourhood has them in their gardens but don’t even know it.

      I’m glad it isn’t just me noticing the eager plants. We have some apple trees in pots waiting to go in and some of them are already covered in buds. I’m dying to get out there are fill up my veg plots already, I just have to hold off a little longer….. 🙂

      • I went to the farmers market today and had to resist buying plants I have nowhere to put… it’s just that sort of weather… so close to spring today but who knows what tomorrow will bring… only 1 plant came home with me, a bee plant 🙂

        • Well done for resisting, I probably would have given in and come home with a pile of plants who completely hated me after a few days of freezing out in the garden….
          Bee plant? Havent heard of that one, it sounds interesting, what is it? I’m expecting nice flowers on it that’s for sure. 😀

          • The first thing I said to the G.O. when he got home was “don’t tell me I paid $7 for a tobacco bush”. He tells me it’s a cousin to the geranium. It looks like a cross between a tobacco bush & a geranium and has tiny raggy looking yellow weedy daisy-like flowers. You’d be disappointed in the flowers I think, unless you are a bee. Apparently though it’s very hardy, thrives on neglect and if you plant it in the garden, comes up everywhere.

          • That last sentence makes it my kind of plant. 😀
            I am not a plant snob at all, I love everything that grows. My favourite flower is a Forget-Me-Not so I am never disappointed in weedy looking flowers!
            Whenever I find a plant I haven’t seen before or don’t have in the garden I am unlikely to resist buying it, it is best I stay away from markets and the nursery. I don’t, but it would be better if I did…. 🙂

          • Ditto. I learn the hard way though. Early on, before I understood the limitations of our TA garden, I bought 10 pink kangaroo paws for $11…each. Not one survived. Similarly, when we moved the this apartment I sacrificed $50 pansies and herbs before it became apparent the grimy balcony would only support the hardiest of plants. If the bee plant is as hardy & prolific as I was told, I’ll send you a piece.

  2. it’s beautiful. Nothing like the glossy florist orchids, but all the more precious for that. Keep up the good work of being custodian. 🙂

    • The native orchids and the florist ones are so completely different aren’t they. After living with these little wild ones for so long, every time I see those big, brightly coloured and amazingly shaped ones in the shops I always feel as though they are not even real!

      You wouldn’t be encouraging me if you were the one living in fear of your own backyard for a few months of the year…. sorry family….. 😉

  3. I love that tiny orchid! It’s so delicate and /elegant/. I have a couple of exotic kind of orchids flowering, which I thought was a bit odd. Plus Daphne. And Eureops. I bet the blossoms aren’t far behind either. I’ve long thought true spring begins in August. In fact, August is one of my favourite months. 🙂

    • This winter has been quite mild hasn’t it. The plants are dying to get on with it! 🙂
      I have had a Woolemi Pine in a pot for years which grows a waxy cover over the ends of its branches when the weather gets cold, when it warms up they break open and the new growth comes out. This year is the first time it hasn’t even bothered. I don’t even have the fire lit today!
      I’m hoping that spring is long and productive, although I am scared it just means summer will be long and hot…. Bleh. 😦

      • lol – I just looked at the timestamp on your comment Metan – I hope you’re still smiling after that storm we had.

        The Daughter and I just spent an hour out in the dark, working by the light of her headlights, trying to free up a small garden area that was completely smothered by about three huge branches that broke off a nearby gum. I’m going to have to get a man with a chain saw to come in and finish rescuing my poor roses as even the two of us working together couldn’t move the big ones.

        Masses of huge branches came down in my neighbours back yard as well, half from a tree on my side of the fence. It’s an unholy mess. I’ll try and take some pics tomorrow.

        • Eeek! It was pretty impressive for a short time then, wasn’t it? Fortunately we didn’t have any branches fall but it sounds like you got more than your fair share. 😦
          Have you called the insurance company? When we had that huge tree fall they arranged for a company to come out and cut it all up and gave us money to fix the fence too. They are only wire stock fences and we only had to get a new post and stretch the wire back into the right shape so it was definitely worthwhile making the claim.

          Hopefully the roses survived their squashing. We have had small trees completely flattened by huge branches or trees and when they are freed up they spring back into place like it never happened.

          Good luck with this unwanted drama, just look at it as less tree mass to attract fire in summer…. A small comfort I know but there is always a silver lining isn’t there. 😀

          • We’ve missed damage in most of the storms that have raged the last few years so I guess we were due for some. And you’re right, definitely less mass for summer. 3 of the roses seem to be okay – as in we can see them more or less. The 4th was snapped off about 1/2 way up its little trunk. Just hoping it will sprout again in spring.

          • The Man has been known to repeatedly prune our roses with a careless chainsaw all the way down to ankle height, they always come back! I’m sure yours will be fine. 🙂

            I hate trees falling but once down I always appreciate them being gone (and nobody being squished).

          • Oh thanks Metan! I’m a very gentle pruner so I’m really relieved to know they are that hardy. You’ve made my day!

          • The previous owner of our house clearly had a thing for roses, sadly for them we don’t. We don’t look after them, they get yanked out, stomped on, and branches are angrily ripped off when they start scraping the sides of the caravan. Nevertheless they are all still going strong. We even have ones growing in the hard packed gravel on the side of the driveway. I think they are just pretty blackberries without the fruit….. 😉

          • lmao – sacrilege! Actually I have a sneaky suspicion roses prefer to be left alone to do their own thing. I know pruning is supposed to make them flower more – for our benefit – but I prefer them au naturel. 😉

    • Seeing tiny hidden things like this in the garden makes me wonder about all the other wonderful things we unknowingly pass by as we go about our lives!

Tell me something!

