13 comments on “You can’t take it with you.

    • He does, doesn’t he. One line and you know who it is! 🙂
      I would like to do a big wodge of Paul Kelly clips but I think I had better spread them out…. plus, it gives me something entertaining to use when I am too busy to do a real post! 😀

  1. It’s been a while since I heard this song… but a message that cannot be diseeminated often enough in this consumerist, achievement oriented society. We went to a public talk with the Dalai Lama yesterday and it’s one of the topics he touched on in answer to a submitted question about how not to have any regrets when you die – he suggested focusing on acts kindness and community rather than “higher accomplishments” 🙂

    • That talk would have been great and you’re right, in this society you are judged by how much ‘stuff’ you have rather than how happy you are. Not a true gauge of success if you ask me!
      I think success is just trying to be happy and behaving kindly to others. 😀

  2. I’m not a huge fan of Paul Kelly’s but I did like this song. For me, living a good life means being the best person you can be, and that includes making the most of whatever talents you’re born with. I guess you can’t take integrity with you either when you go but having it might make the going easier. Oh and that banjo was sensational. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Three string magic. | Buried words and Bushwa.

Tell me something!

