23 comments on “Underground mutton.

  1. Crazy numbers of rabbits and hares here in NZ too. Luckily our neighbour is an avid hunter so he tends to keep the numbers on our property under control too. Which is just as well, given that they’re a real problem in our olive grove – apparently the buggers love the taste of olive bark. Grrrr…

    I’ve never checked what the meat sells for, though – would be interesting to find out.

    • Olive bark eh? The little buggers…

      Sam the butcher told me that an average rabbit would probably end up being about $30. Not massively expensive when you compare it to lamb or beef but still…..

      You never know, if they as expensive there in NZ rabbit farming might be a worthwhile sideline! You can alway feed them on your bark 😉

  2. Rabbits are expensive because the vast majority of harvested rabbits go to dog food or Akubra hats….so if you want to put them in your stew instead, you’ve got to pay top dollar or get your own. Another argument for ‘local food’ – if you’ve got free range rabbits running around your yard, take advantage of it I say! 😉

    • Akubras? Of course! I never thought of that!

      I agree about the local food, I think our butcher should have as much venison as it does beef as there are plenty of deer here too.
      Judging by the state of the vehicles in the neighbourhood late on a sunday afternoon many locals just go and get their own though. 🙂

  3. We’ve become soft city folk, as when we see live rabbits on the road out to TA, we go “ooh bunnies”, or for dead ones “awww bunny”. That said, you got me thinking about the delicious Rabbit ravioli I had once at Mezzaluna 🙂

    • 😀 I am halfway, when I see them on the side of the road I say “ooh look” to the kids but if I see them squished I say a quiet “yay!”.

      Rabbit ravioli sounds yum. We have been to the Prairie Hotel for lunch a few time in outback SA, they have a great feral menu and we are always ready to taste something new 😉

      • The Prairie Hotel is now on our travel to-do list. When More than half a lifetime ago when I was at school in the country I was the only person in my class to have eaten rabbit, eel, yabbies, wild duck, cat fish… they were country kids too but obviously richer than our family was in the old days… Before my time my grand mother would cook anything they could catch and they would eat eat parrots, pigeons etc as well.

        • I can’t eat yabbies!! I have had pet yabbies in the past and I just can’t bring myself to kill the funny little buggers.
          Many years ago when the Man and I lived by the river we were broke and each night after work we would go for a walk with the fishing rod and catch whatever we could before it got too dark to see our way home. 🙂 We are lazy these days and everything comes in a packet doesn’t it…
          You have definitely tried more things than I have though. 🙂

          The Prairie Hotel is definitely worth a stop, the food is fantastic but I would advise against the camel schnitzel. It had a nice flavour but was too tough!

  4. I’m sure I ate rabbit in Wagga Wagga [when I was 4] but after seeing dead rabbits hung up on the verandah after a hunt, I’ve never been able to make myself eat them in any form. I’ve seen wild ones just up the road in a neighbour’s paddock, and I know Buffa hunts baby ones up there, but we don’t get them in the garden thanks to the rabbit proof fencing. Such a pity something so cute has to be so destructive.

    • They are cute, I can see that a brace of dead ones might put you off them for life.
      When we go out into the bush it is horrible to see some of the damage done by them, and that is just where we have access to. Imagine what they are doing further out where they aren’t getting disturbed… 😦

      Since we Jack-proofed the garden we haven’t had too much of a problem with them fortunately. Just as well, my veg garden doesn’t need any other visitors, the big-mouthed caterpillars have done enough damage! 🙂

      • My garden is jack proofed as well. When a neighbour insisted on it I didn’t see the point but I do now.

        I haven’t had much damage from caterpillars but the snails really have taken a toll. They demolished my green beans and capsicum and no amount of beer bait could keep them away. 😦

        • Bloody snails 😦 Over summer when it was really hot each day we kept Jack inside as that was the time the Blue Tongue Lizards were out sunning themselves and all she wanted to do was kill them.

          I think we did ourselves a favour giving them an easy ride because there are hardly any snails molesting my veg patch out there. Around the house though, that is another story. The poor broccoli and cauli there are being ravaged!

          I have to say it is very satisfying pulling the caterpillars off the veg and chucking them over the fence to the chooks. 😀

          • I think Mogi scared our Blue Tongue off for good. Can’t say I blame it. That high pitched yapping was driving me crazy as well.

            lol – I’ll bet your chooks think it’s mana falling from heaven!

          • 🙂 As soon as I start walking around the veg they race over to that part of the fence with loud bok bok boks and jostle for position!

            Poor Blue Tongue, Jack’s barking made me crazy as well!

          • lmao – I’ve never had chickens, and never really thought of them as being smart, but yours sound as if they know exactly where the treats are coming from!

          • I never thought of chickens as anything other than egg layers either but these girls have changed my opinion of them.

            Number 2 has taken over letting them out in the morning because he loves the greeting he gets. He will sneak up there but they hear him coming and call out loudly to him to say good morning.

            When I go up to see them during the day and throw some bread in for them they have a quick nibble and then line up and wait against the wire at the front.
            They know I am likely to go and pick some grass from a patch that we keep long just to feed to them and, even though they love the bread they love grass more. I cut some for them and chuck it in and they are very happy, only after I have stopped do they race back to the bread. 🙂

          • I wonder if your girls interact with you because you and No.2 spend time with /them/? I’m a firm believer in that you get back what you put in.

          • I am sure that is what it is. We have always been gentle with them and, of course, they get fed ten times a day!

  5. I had a very nice rabbit stew in Scotland in the late 70s. Not something you get much of any more.

    Those bunnies were productive weren’t they? Wow 10 billion from a handful.

    • Yup, breeding like..ummm… rabbits…. 😀 It is a frightening number isn’t it?

      It’s funny. You would think something that is clearly easy to keep alive, and fat, would be a more popular choice for farming wouldn’t you? I guess there are still prejudices around about eating it. After the depression people would have avoided it and I guess that still lingers today even though most people wouldn’t know why.

        • Not pretentious enough for our city butchers either. 😉 They need to use rabbit on one of the hugely popular cooking shows we have here one day, there will be a huge rush on it! Of course then the price will go up even more. 🙂

Tell me something!

