21 comments on “Medicated eggs. 1931.

  1. I’m not sure eggs laden with iodine would be well received by Food and Drug Administration officials today. Unfortunately.

    And, yes, back then, being hefty was a sign that you were well off, as in well fed. Today, at least in the US, it’s often a sign of poverty.

    • I saw an ad on tv last night for some $2 burgers at Maccas (McDonalds) and commented to the Man that things like that are why people with little money have health and weight problems.
      If you are completely broke you might still be able to come up with a few bucks to buy yourelf or your kids a burger for dinner. It isn’t right, or healthy, but if it is that or nothing what are they going to do?
      All these cooking shows tell us that healthy cooking is cheaper than junk food, but when you have nothing else buying your kids a single vegetable for dinner isn’t going to help your situation is it?

      It just shows how much human culture and society has changed doesn’t it? If a farmer from Budapest walked the city streets these days they would immediately assume that all people were wealthy/successful when reality is very different!

      • Cooking healthy may be cheaper, but those proposing that seem to forget that often there’s a whole set of accoutrements that go with eating healthy, specific pots and pans, a decent stove or oven, etc.

        And, yes, my gang would riot given the choice between a head of cooked cabbage and a couple of cheeseburgers. And so would I.

        • That is always my argument about healthy cooking being cheaper. It is, as long as you already have a cupboard full of herbs and spices and bits and pieces. If the cupboard is bare even the simplest fresh dish is an expensive proposition.
          No wonder people go for the easiest/cheapest thing, the cooking shows that proliferate the tv these days make it seem so simple to eat healthy and fresh, but the budget to get to that simple dish is often out of the reach of the people who need it most. 😦

  2. I saw a very cute photo the other day (on Facebook, where else?) and thought of you. It was of hens that were wearing little hand knitted capes to keep them warm over winter. Are you up for the challenge?!

    • Oh, I would love that! It does get quite cold here in winter so I was wondering how to keep them warm. Sadly my knitting skills are such that little capes made by me would be more like uncomfortable armoured shells rather than cosy winter woolies 😀

  3. They do say you are what you eat 😉 I’d have liked my parents to be cheesemakers (and I know my sisters would agree) but the closest we got was my grandparenst were dairy farmers so there was always heaps of the raw product, and fresh chook eggs, unmedicated 🙂

    • Do you think the dairy farming history of your family contributed to your love of cheeses? Hmmm… if we are what we eat I am a chilli potato chip! 😉 Mmmmm… delicious arm… *crunch*

      • The only cheese I ate as a kid was processed Kraft cheese that came in a blue cardboard box or cheesesticks! On second thoughts maybe I wished they were winemakers… my family drink enough wine that we alone would make it a vineyard financially viable 😉

        • I’m hesitant to admit it, but I love that blue box Kraft cheese. It is a long stretch between it and real cheese but it is yummy. 😀

          I think that you having your own private vineyard would be a little like giving the Man a pub for his birthday. A nice thought but a sure path to disaster! 😀

          • I like it too 🙂 – conspiracy theory alert – I had an interesting experience at the local corner shop where a man looking a lot like an aged Elvis bought every last packet of Kraft Cheese off the shelf. Elvis lives… in Darlington, inner city Sydney?

          • Oh my! Did he have a new deep fryer under his arm too? Please tell me he said “Thank you verra much” to the checkout chick. 😀

  4. I may be a little biased [having been born in Hungary] but it occurred to me that the iodine may actually have been a good idea. Hungary is a landlocked country with no access to the sea so iodine would not be part of the food chain. I can’t help wondering how tasty the eggs would have been with the added cod liver oil though!

  5. If the chickens that ate onions laid onion-flavoured eggs, do you think the ones fed on cod liver oil laid cod liver oil flavoured eggs? If so, then I’m surprised anyone would eat them, thus having quite the reverse effect to the desired one.

    • This article made me think that people of yesteryear were far less picky abou their food than we are today. Cod liver flavoured eggs? Ick. 🙂

Tell me something!

