19 comments on “A dubious musician….

  1. Perhaps poor Arthur needed more practise. When my sister was learning the electric guitar she played the same chords and riffs repeatedly for ongoing periods, and at all hours. If she couldn’t sleep she play at 3am…The Rappoport’s neighbours have my sympathy. I too wonder if just got a day job 😉

    • If he was practicing for four hours every day you would think he would have been good enough to not have traumatized the neighbours quite so much wouldn’t you?!
      Number 2 son has a keyboard and Number 1 son has both a drum kit and electric guitar, fortunately they obey our no playing loudly after 8pm rule! 3am? Wow, that would result in sudden death in my house, bugger what the neighbours think, I like my sleep too much to put up with that! 😀

  2. Clearly young Arthur didn’t like to play his own horn since we don’t hear what he said, but his mother must be a patient woman herself since I couldn’t tolerate my daughter playing her flute for four hours at a time every day. Whether that makes me a bad father or just a lover of good music I’m not sure.

    • Yvonne doesn’t seem to have turned out too badly so I would have to discount bad father and go with lover of good music 😉 When my kids play their instruments I am just grateful that all the money we have spent on them, and lessons, hasn’t gone to waste!

      When we were travelling near Alice Springs in 2010 we stopped at a roadhouse called Stuarts Well where the big claim to fame was the resident dingo, Dinky. The owners daughters learnt piano as children and the dingo would stand up on the keyboard and howl when they practiced.

      Dinky was still around, so you could seat yourself at the piano and plink plink away and the dingo would get up there and give you a howl as well. Number 2 was scared of dingoes but had a go. Yup, the dingo climbed up, hoooooowled and freaked him out 🙂 Hasn’t stopped him playing though, phew 🙂

  3. Gawd… I wonder if young Arthur’s mother was hard of hearing. The Daughter learned to play a nice, well-tuned piano. I don’t think I could have survived something with flexible notes… like a violin, or wind instrument. 😦

    • Maybe she was a crazed stage mother and in her eyes her beloved son could do no wrong. 🙂

      Number 2 is learning keyboard but loves playing a real piano. Sometimes we sneak into the music room at school on the way out and he runs through his repertoire just for the sake of it. Their piano is old, clunky and out of tune and it makes me thankful that his electronic keyboard at home stays in tune no matter what!

      I agree, an instrument that can be abused is a terrifying thing for a parent!

          • lol – playing the piano is a little bit like playing by numbers. You can’t really get it wrong so long as you hit the right keys. Of course playing it well is another thing altogether.

          • Yes, there is a real difference between playing well and just playing. I am EXTREMELY lucky that Number 2 has real talent, and even his mucking around has a real hook that makes you want to listen, phew! 😀

          • Thanks for reminding me that I need to get our piano tuned sometime soon. The Daughter and I both used to play but the poor piano has been sadly neglected the last few years.

            Your lucky he has a real interest. That makes all the difference.

  4. Ah… life in NYC. Part of life in a densely populated city is hearing good, and bad, musicians at work. There are laws about noise and hours restricting loud music, but they are difficult to enforce. The singer down the hall from me is a professional. Not my first choice in music, but it won’t kill you to hear him practice. On the other side of the elevator, there’s a guitar player who’s also pretty darn good and sometime she jams with other musicians. There are upsides to this, too.

    • Living close to so many people would definitely have its ups and downs. I can’t imagine having to live through other people learning an instrument, although having to suffer through a professional musician practicing nearby is not too bad. Lucky you haven’t got the stereotypical budding violinist screeching away nearby! 🙂

Tell me something!

