11 comments on “William Hatherell, swagmen and Waltzing Matilda.

    • I always wondered how big his tuckerbag was though. It mush have been quite a size if he could conceal a whole sheep in it!

      The print is very detailed, I can only imagine how wonderfully detailed the original etching was. The print has a partner called Mustering sheep that I will have to post a pictures of in the future too. 🙂

  1. The Hatherell print is wonderful. Great find, and lovely of you mum & dad to pass it on to you. The G.O. would love it and the Slim clip which I did my best to listen to but couldn’t make it all the way through. I can admit this to you, as I don’t believe you have any followers from Taylors Arm, where I’d be run of the village for sedition 😉

  2. It must be my age but I still remember all the words! I love this song and it always means ‘home’ to me. I wish we had the courage to make it our official anthem as well as our unofficial one. 🙂

  3. In the States, people know very little about Australia. “Waltzing Matilda” is on that short list, but I don’t think anyone here knows what it means or that it started as a poem. Thanks!

    • I wouldn’t be surprised if a good portion of Aussies thought that Waltzing Matilda was only a song and not a poem too… 😉

      I have noticed how little most in the US know about Australia, the other night I was infuriated by an Australian television show clearly made for your market which was subtitled in parts. SUBTITLED! They were speaking plain English! AAAARGHHH!! If we requested that some American shows were subtitled we would probably be derided as backwards hicks!

      I wonder if people (everywhere) had more understanding about the way the rest of the world lives we would have more tolerant societies?

Tell me something!

