21 comments on “Banjo Paterson- A Mountain Station. 1901.

    • There was movement at the station, for the word had passed around….. Even Aussies who have no idea about the rest of the poem will instantly recognize that line 😀
      The movie was extremely popular at the time and now you have given me an excuse to put in a clip of the most iconic scene, Jim’s ride… 😉

    • Clancy of the Overflow got an honourable mention in the poem The Man from Snowy River too, Banjo Paterson could certainly evoke the right images with his great poems.

      You have now inspired me to do a post about Waltzing Matilda! I guess most people would only think of it as a song rather than a poem as that is the most common way we hear it.
      I’m off to youtube right now 🙂

    • If you start calling him Banjo he might not take it in the right way though 😉

      I put a clip of Jim’s ride from the movie in my reply to the comment from JG just in case you are interested 🙂

  1. I’ve never heard Clancy of the Overflow read out loud before and I’m really impressed. The images were perfect too. Thanks so much for this Metan. 🙂

  2. Pingback: William Hatherell, swagmen and Waltzing Matilda. « Buried words and Bushwa.

  3. Whooo Hooo!!! … love that movie clip 🙂 Oh yes, each of my brothers had their own “take” on: “there was movement at the station for … ” 😉 ha ha ha…
    I think that “Clancy…” begins with “Waltzing Matilda”… then changes to “The Road from Gundagai”, then back to “Matilda”? … Can you hear that too Metan or are my ears playing tricks? 😀

    • I’m not sure, one of the versions of Matilda is unexpectedly jazzy though!

      I admit that we use “There was movement at the station…” in a multitude of situations too…. 😉

    • You’re welcome!
      I love going through the town on a weekend and seeing a few horses tied up outside the pub with a couple of blokes having a drink looking like modern-day versions of Jim Craig (the man from Snowy River) or Clancy. Nice to know that lifestyle hasn’t completely disappeared 😀

  4. That was a great reading [much better than my uncle’s whose party trick it is] , and the visions were splendid! I also liked the Mountain Station poem. I can imagine ABP scribbling it on the back of receipt or similar 🙂

    • I thought the Jack Thompson one would be the one to post but this one was perfect. The images were great weren’t they 🙂 I was really pleased with that find!

      I can just imagine the sheep “tumbling off the run” up in the high country too 😀 I am trying to talk the Man into taking a drive up to Craig’s Hut over the weekend so I can get a few photos but I don’t like my luck…

Tell me something!

