18 comments on “Snakebite in Calcutta. 1914.

  1. He could be a latter-day Steve Irwin, what an incredible and tragic story – to have missed the fifth puncture and died later from an oversight.

    The year of the snake sounds like it will be interesting although I think the Chinese calendar should include a year of the bee!

    • It is a sad story and I am trying (without too much success 😦 ) to find more information about him for another post. I wonder how recent that photo was, he seems quite youg doesn’t he?

      The Year of the Snake does sound interesting but I wonder what qualities the year of the Bee might have? Busyness? The year of Communal Living? 😉 If only governments had years of the Bee. Things might get done for the betterment of everyone not just the betterment of themselves!

  2. Happy New Year…..again. Very unusual for a man at that time to wear his hair so long and it actually looks like he’s wearing cargo pants or something with a tee shirt. They say styles come round again don’t they.

    • Happy New Year to you too! I wonder if he was a bit of a fashion rebel at the time or just so preoccupied with snakes that he didn’t pay attention to what he was wearing? This photo is certainly a different one from what I would expect.

    • It is a sad story isn’t it? I am doing my best to find out some more information about him. There are heaps of old articles about him, unfortunatley all bar one so far has been almost identical to this, reporting his untimely death. I really want to know more about him!

    • £152, a wife and two small children 😦 I wonder how old he was?
      I have just made a cuppa and something to eat and am about to settle in and try to find more on him.

      A snake person? Strong and flexible, warm and generous… I am a (metal) pig and according to wikipedia; “Metal attributes are considered to be firmness, rigidity, persistence, strength and determination. The metal person is controlling, ambitious, forceful and set in their ways as metal is very strong; and they are self-reliant and prefer to handle their problems alone.”

      Awww…. I think they are trying to find a nice way of saying I’m a control freak with unbending stubborness 😉

  3. At least the missus & kids got something without too much mucking around… that will wasn’t made long before his death. I wonder if he thought it would come in handy quite so soon.

    The wood part is the nice words, Snake is mixed… “In Chinese symbology, snakes are regarded as intelligent, but with a tendency to be somewhat unscrupulous…”

    • I did read that unscrupulous bit and chose to ignore it 😉

      Lucky for the family that he left them with something. I wonder if the wife was worried about the danger of his job and made sure he had one?

  4. Five punctures? How many times did he get bit? Wouldn’t you have thought he would have high-tailed it after the first bite (and, I suppose, the first two punctures)? I’ve caught a venomous snake or two on occasion, but would never treat it so cavalierly, no matter how used to them I was – especially not something as dangerous as a krait.

    • I wonder if it bit him once or twice in a sneaky attack and then the others were as he attempted to catch it?
      People who are used to snakes are frighteningly relaxed about handling them aren’t they? 🙂

  5. Pingback: The terror of Kurnell. 1911. « Buried words and Bushwa.

Tell me something!

