16 comments on “Verandah spider.

    • Braver than me too. It was all I could do not to tell him to run for his life! He is a ‘face your fears’ kind of kid but touching a spider is above and beyond 😀

  1. Now this “little critter” 🙂 looks just like the chappies we call a “daddy long legs”, here in South Australia, and don’t bother me too much but the HUNTSMAN (my son-in-love has cheekily re-named the “Huntsperson”) is the bane of my life. They’re everywhere… they’re everywhere!!! and SO big, fat, hairy, ugly and can squeeze through the tiniest of spaces. I just “nuke ’em” and without without any qualms when they intrude. However, they’re just scary to look at unlike that tiny, sweet, pretty little “red back” that is deadly and prolific in “my neck of the woods” and scares the pants off me!!! Uggghhh!!! 😦
    However, please do pass on my congrats to son #2. Far braver than me that at more than twice his age 🙂

    • We have Daddy Long Legs here too but these guys have fatter legs and longer abdomens. Daddy Long Legs don’t bother us too much either but they are in every nook and cranny! They drive me mad!!

      Huntsmen though.. eeek! I hate them, they are so big and…. *shudder*…. I agree, nuke ’em, no questions asked. We used to get them inside all the time until the Man cut down a big Ti-Tree that was close to the house. Now they are only an occassional visitor. Occassional but no more welcome than before!

      Redbacks are horrible aren’t they, and always turn up in the most unexpected places!

    • After Catherines comment above it got me thinking about Daddy Long Legs. What we call a Daddy Long Legs in our garden is nothing like the spider we called that name in the house I grew up in and is nothing like the spider in that link!
      The ones we call that here are almost white and are often seen with victims in their webs that are many, many times their size. The ones from my childhood were almost a caricature of a spider, just a brown circle of a body with long thin legs in every direction.

      I guess Daddy Long Legs has become the generic name for the most abundant longest-legged spider that live in each neighbourhood 🙂

  2. Good on #2 Son. Although initially we thought our Spidy was a huge Daddy Long Legs we realised your Spidy is the same type of Spidy which had taken up residence in our back shower over Christmas & had to be moved also to the verandah when I cleaned that bathroom. It returned after a couple of weeks, but should be safe now if I don’t clean it again for another 7 years! I was surprised how calm the G.O. was sharing the shower, and also that he [very reluctantly] assisted to relocate a bedroom huntsman which was over the door and I couldn’t reach with a big jar. Lots of spider bravery happening which makes me happier than killing them. By the way I have friends who live on the Mornington Peninsula who refer to the huge & prolific huntsmen spiders there, as “huntsbastards” which just kills me 🙂

    • Not cleaning the bathroom for another 7 years sounds good to me! This guy isn’t a Daddy Long Legs, he is a bit more substantial than one of them, fortunately they don’t seem interested in coming inside. If they do however, it is the broom for them!
      The G.O is very brave in relocating the Huntsman, usually I use the vacuum to do my Huntsman relocating, the thud as they slam around the bend in the handle is both immensely satisfying and a little disturbing….

      I love the term Huntsbastards! I just read that bit to the kids and they were delighted 🙂 I love the pet names people come up with 😀
      When we were driving back from Broken Hill we went through a section of road that was obviously a late night kangaroo highway; dead roos on the sides of the road everywhere. At one point one of those yellow warning signs on the side of the road had been carefully changed to clearly read RAMBOROOS. We cracked up as the vision of crazed Rambo-style kangaroos bouncing madly into the oncoming traffic was perfect!

  3. I won’t go to the same lengths your son did to avoid them, but I still don’t like them, and have yet to pick one up to face my fear. Well done!

    • After looking at that link all I could imagine was cracking open the tomb to find it full of annoyed spiders with excellent night vision… eeek!
      The world is an amazing place isn’t it, cave dwelling spiders who have adapted to crypts and lived unnoticed for over 100 years. 🙂

  4. Pingback: About life, personal challenges and celebrations « Sciencelens

Tell me something!

