18 comments on “An elusive fly.

    • He is definitely a character. I have my suspicions that he just hangs about waiting for me to turn up with my camera and then catches my attention to frustrate me purely for his own amusement!

    • I thought Blue-arsed flies were just an Australian thing! Funny how saying spread, isn’t it? This guy really does run around like one though 🙂

  1. You’ll have to get hold of a copy of something that identifies all these species you find. If this is a new one maybe they’ll let you name it Fidgety Fly or maybe they’ll call it the green Metan. xx Hugs

    • I have tried to identify this fly but I couldn’t find anything like him anywhere. I love the thought of calling him the Green Metan though.

      That’s it, his name is now officially the Green Metan until some smart person out there can actually tell me what he really is. I really do love knowing what their proper names are though so if there is someone out ther who can help please do! 🙂

  2. I removed a comma to make this quote perfect for you 🙂 … “He who loves flies, runs, and rejoices; he is free and nothing holds him back.” Henry Matisse

    • I look all the time at everything that moves in the garden but every time I am out there I see something new.
      This guy is not only elusive in the garden, I have just spent ages on the web trying all my tricks to find out what he is and have had absolutely no luck at all. That is an unusual thing as I usually can get a pretty good idea of what they are with a bit of searching.

      I am so stumped by it that I just sent a message to the Australian Museum bug guy to see if he can help me identify it!

    • What a quick response! According to Dr. David Britton it is a soldier fly in the family Stratiomyidae. Green Metan sounds better though, doesn’t it? 🙂

      Now I can update the post and make it sound like I know what I am talking about!

      • lmao! That is amazing. Just shows you’re reaching more people than you knew. :p

        However….I too prefer the Green Metan. It doesn’t look anything like a ‘soldier’ to me.

Tell me something!

