16 comments on “Pigeon code cracked?

  1. It was all quite boring in the end, as it wasn’t a complex code, just some acronyms… If you believe the story and they’re not covering up for the real explanation!

    AOAKN – Artillery Observer At “K” Sector, Normandy
    HVPKD – Have Panzers Know Directions
    FNFJW – Final Note [confirming] Found Jerry’s Whereabouts
    DJHFP – Determined Jerry’s Headquarters Front Posts
    CMPNW – Counter Measures [against] Panzers Not Working
    PABLIZ – Panzer Attack – Blitz
    KLDTS – Know [where] Local Dispatch Station
    27 / 1526 / 6 – June 27th, 1526 hours

    • The explanations do see a little too obvious but I guess that a complicated code would not have been too easy to write a message in if you were trying to do it quickly.

      When I read the meaning behind the abbreviations I immediately thought of that game the kids and I play when you assign completely wrong words to a well known acronym. I think any war enthusiast could come up with these interpretations on their own!

  2. I would hope that a full search is instituted in the British War Museum and also Army HQ. for copies of the code books. They’re important documents Historically and hopefully will confirm the translation we’ve been given.

    • I was really surprised that the war museum didn’t have copies of these code books, even if they didn’t have the originals. As EllaDee says below, perhaps whoever was in charge should have got his wife to have a look for them 😉

  3. I think the ‘experts’ had what would be termed in Australia as a ‘girl’s look’… as in ‘darl, where are my socks’… when they are right there in front of them…

    • 😀 😀 I’m still laughing over this “Darl, where are my socks?” 😀 So true!

      In our house we refer to this kind of intensive search as a ‘Dad look’. If the kids can’t find something I immediately ask if they looked like dad does or if they looked like I do. When they look like I do they usually find it. Funny that.

      Now the lack of code book has been bought to the attention of the public I expect that soon one will be found and some entirely plausible excuse given for its whereabouts not being discovered earlier. We will know though that they called a wife in to help look won’t we 😉

  4. Oh my god that’s so exciting! What a million to one chance of someone still having one of the old codebooks?!? It does make me wonder though – would the war have ended any faster if that poor pigeon hadn’t got stuck in a chimney? Or maybe the ‘spy’ sent multiple pigeons…

  5. I wonder if it has something to do with keeping military secrets even after they’ve been declassified… My dad worked code during WWII and that’s all he would ever tell me.

    • Just imagine the amazing tales he had stored away in his head. I would be no good in a classified position, I would be too likely to blurt out interesting tidbits!

      I wonder how happy the British authorities are about their old code book ending up in the hands of a Canadian when they don’t have one of their own?

    • Glad to be of help. It was just lucky I stumbled across this minutes before going to bed that night because haven’t seen it reported anywhere else either. A pity, because it is an interesting ending to the story. These kinds of follow-ups are something we don’t get enough in the media, once the original story has died down it as if it never happened.

Tell me something!

