12 comments on “An unexpected visitor. 1905.

    • The beak of a Kookaburra is a frightening thing to behold if you are a lizard or a snake (or indeed a sausage wielding barbequer) so I can imagine poor quality windows would have no chance against the onslaught! 🙂

    • Kookas are great birds. They are very social and love a bbq. Well, an unattended bbq is their favourite. They are more than happy to wait for you to step out of tong reach and swoop down to snatch meat right off the hotplate. They are quite strong and large too so you can’t just wave them away, you are best to duck!

      Once we were camping and a family of kookaburras were very interested in what we were doing, hanging around in the trees nearby. The Man made a sandwich and sat in a chair to eat it. As he was lifting it to his mouth a kooaburra swooped down, snatched it right out of his hand, and back to the tree to consume its prize. Naturally the kids and I fell about laughing while the poor Man sat back for a second and wondered what the hell happened! 😀

      • They do look like our kingfishers (apart from the colour) but yours are obviously a lot more brave and hardy. I wouldn’t fancy it’s chances of being thrown through a window. Also they’re very hard to spot darting about on the river and aren’t too common.

        I have a French-African friend who when I told her about kingfishers, being bright orange and electric blue, she obviously thinks everything in the UK is so drab that she’s convinced I was joking. She just wouldn’t believe me that they were real.

        • The kids are mad on nature shows (Deadly 60 gets a real go here) so I have seen footage of what your kingfishers look like, they are so small and their colours are amazing.

          Our kookaburras are quite drab, I know that pictures show bright blue patches on them, and they do have them, but they only glow like that when the sun catches them. Mainly they are well camouflaged and are very good at standing quietly on a branch waiting for something edible to wander by.

          They mainly eat bugs and small lizards but are happy to take on bigger things, even snakes. They grab them up, fly to a tree, and use their powerful head to slam it against a branch until they knock the life out of them.

          If you give one a sausage it will treat it as though it is a lizard or snake and give it a few slams before gulping it down, very amusing! 😀

  1. Wow… I knew Kookaburras were quite powerful but I had no idea they could do /that/. I’ll treat my visiting family of kookas with a bit more respect from now on. 😉

    • I bet you have seen what they can do to an inattentive reptile (or unattended sausage) though! Those beaks are pretty formidable and I guess cheap glass would have no hope standing up against one 🙂

      • Yes, those beaks are pretty amazing. The few times I’ve had birds flying into my windows [fighting their own reflection?] there’s just been an almighty and rather sickening thud. Trust the kookaburras to go one further. 😀

  2. We have a Bulgarian friend who took his wife & young daughters on a holiday to the coast, and availing themselves of a communal bbq were the subject of kookaburra opportunism… his report to us in appropriate accent ‘What are these monsters that take our food? I said to my wife… K take the kids, get inside. It’s not safe…” 🙂

    • When you are under attack while bbq-ing monsters is definitely a good description. I wondered if the rise of the hooded bbq was after a backyard chef lost one too many sausages! Going inside is definitely a good idea, they are pretty intent sometimes aren’t they?!

  3. Pingback: ebb & flow | elladee_words

Tell me something!

