14 comments on “Ray Walker, lion trainer. 1949.

  1. Wow, this is pretty cool indeed! Amazing that her daughter came across your post. I suppose, given that you’re blogging about lots of actual historic events something like this can potentially happen. Have you had feedback from people related to characters in your stories before?

  2. Your original post re Ray Walker was interesting enough but with the additional info re the true nature of her wounds and the contact from one of her offspring, it’s exceptional… as was the snakes in cars post & comments – too funny 🙂

    • The snakes in cars post and reply still makes me laugh too 🙂

      I was so surprised to get the comment on that old Ray Walker post. I know that many of the articles I use are recent enough that the actual people involved could well still be around (one of the reasons I try to be polite about them!) but it surprises me that they ever find my little blog. It just shows, you never know what will be in your emails!

      I kind of hope that the person who contacted me starts their own blog about her, it sounds like she had an amazing life.

  3. See! You’re famous. 🙂 Now, can your contact in the know tell us more about what kind of a woman Ray Walker was? And what inspired her to become a lion trainer? Life after mauling? How many kids? Gah…. I want to KNOW!!!!!! -cough- More please?

  4. Amazing photo and fabulous story.

    I’ve seen a lot of strange things, and strange people, get out of New York City cabs, but a lion and a lion trainer/tamer…. nope. Not even in NYC.

    • I was so pleased to find this picture 🙂

      I can’t imagine that the lion was too pleased to be put in a taxi, even if it was as big as a bus I doubt Sultan would have been thrilled. Clearly Ray Walker must have had real influence over him, I doubt that there would have been much of a trip if he had reacted badly.

      I have heard that New York cabbies are renowned for their “Seen it” attitude but this adventure would have really been one for the books! 😀

  5. OK, that’s enough. Hi again Metan. I was wondering if you could stop posting primary source material about my mother Ray Walker and having a bit of a giggle about it now? I am indeed in process of writing a little something for my mother’s progeny’s progeny (for the record I am one of 4 siblings, all of us still alive, with 6 kids and 2 grandkids between us, so reading how wow it is to see an actual relative of crazy lion lady reply to one of these Etruscan age newspaper blogs is a bit… much) and I am not yet in possession of the primary source material you are losing to cyberspace (or the rights to re-publish in a book for example). I’ll send you a copy when its published shall I?
    Just a word to your 3 followers: don’t believe everything you read in the paper. I’ll elaborate at a later date, perhaps.
    Cheers,
    Desiree

    • Interesting to hear from you again. I will start by mentioning the fact that of the three posts I did about Ray Walker only one (this one) was done after I heard from you, and that was in October last year, as it was clear that it was a sensitive subject to you. I am pleased to hear that you are writing a book about her, I am sure her story is a fascinating one.

      As I mentioned in my previous reply to you when you asked where I found these articles they, and the others about her I found, belong to the National Library of Australia, they are public record and not privately owned. I expect that they would extend to you permission to re-publish them in a book, but that will not remove them from public access. Once they were digitized they have been searchable by anyone with internet access so the NLA is the only one ‘losing them to cyberspace’.

      In these posts I think that it is pretty clear that not one person who commented has felt anything other than admiration for her living a life that was clearly out of the ordinary for a woman at that time. We are interested in her story and the exciting events of her life and I very much doubt that anyone thought of her as a ‘crazy lion lady’ as you suggested. Actually, I expect that many of them would be very interested in your book.

      If you are going to publish her story people will have their own opinions of her life. If you are not happy about our genuine interest in her perhaps putting her story out in the world for public scrutiny isn’t something that will make you happy.

      Thank you for the two other detailed and interesting comments you have left. I have chosen not to publish them as they reveal a lot of details that I hadn’t discovered and think that you might prefer to keep for your book. If you would like me to publish them though, please let me know.

      • I apologise for my oversensitivity. Your blog listing on this later article was sent to me by my 20 year old niece and I hadn’t noted it was posted last October. I have been far too harsh with you and read in intentions which clearly are not there. Please excuse my dreadful manners. Happy history hunting.
        Cheers,
        Desiree

Tell me something!

