9 comments on “It’s a Long Way to the Top (If you wanna be in the National Archives).

  1. Gotta love ’em! Especially the Bon Scott era. It’s so cool that an honest, no frills rock band like them have become such a national treasure in Australia – it’s (still) such a great alternative to all the meaningless corporate pop that usually fills the charts.

  2. I love ACDC also, particularly Bon, and would be hard pressed as well to choose a favourite song, Sadly I think the band is now part of the meaningless corporate music scene, they’ve lost that character and ‘style’ they had during Bon’s time (which so appealed to me) and were guided and managed into their cult status and worldwide following. Good business but not so great music.

    • They certainly have changed over the years, I think the natural environment of a band like that is a smoky pub, not a slickly produced film clip….

  3. I saw that segment as well and my first thought was ‘what the?’. My second thought was ‘my how times change’. I remember ACDC when they were very not politically correct! Talk about bad boys of rock ‘n roll. I’m not sure if this inclusion is an honour or a recognition of the fact that they made an impact way back when but are now ‘establishment’. Still love the old songs though. 🙂

    • There are so many bits of AC/DC songs that are iconic aren’t there, the tolling and the guitar at the start of Hells Bells for example, we hear them and know immediately what is coming 🙂 I was more surprised that they weren’t already part of the sound registry than I was about them being included!

      • They are most definitely iconic. The only thing that surprises me is that they are so well known outside of oz as well. I guess that’s a bit of cultural cringe for you. 😦

Tell me something!

