17 comments on “The man on the moon, 1969. RIP Neil Armstrong.

    • I’m glad you liked it! It is such a sweet film, and so funny. I am happy to believe in a reality where these events took place too, “Are we stuffed?” “Yep, we’re stuffed”… just thinking about it still puts a smile on my face 😀

    • Thanks 🙂 The Dish is a great movie, I don’t think that there is a person alive who wouldn’t find it funny. Please let me know what you think of it if you see it. After reading your Husband Interpreter posts I expect that he will really enjoy it, and completely understand it too 🙂

      Glad to see you back! I hope you enjoyed your travels, I loved your moose photo 🙂

        • I’m sure you will enjoy it. We realized the other day that we don’t have a copy of it on dvd which is a very unusual thing in our house! Now every time we wander past a dvd rack at the shops we have a quick look to see if it is there. Hopefully we will find it soon 🙂

    • If you see it I would love to hear what you think of it. I have seen it so many times, feels like hundreds. When Number 1 son was about 2 it was his favourite movie for a long time. We would have it on 3 times a day he was so obsessed. If he ever grows up to work for NASA I will be able to lay full credit at the feet of the producers of that movie!

  1. I was a kid in school when Armstrong took that one small step yet I can still remember the sense of disbelief I felt – a human being was actually on the /moon/ for godsake! Neil Armstrong will never be forgotten. RIP

    • I always feel for Michael Collins, the whole moon thing couldn’t have happened without him, but he didn’t get the same level of recognition as the others.
      Sending humans to walk on another planet is such an amazing thing, isn’t it. We have never done it since that era either, mores the pity.

      • Yes, that was a once in a lifetime event. I just hope that I’m still around when we finally land on Mars. Let’s just hope that someone somewhere has the vision to scrape together the money that will be needed to get there.

        • I think that any organization/government would rather spend their billions gaining power here on Earth rather than poking around on an empty planet, a pity though.

          (Have you ever read the Mars trilogy by Kim Stanley Robinson? I loved them.)

          • Kim Stanley Robinson is one of my favourite authors and yes, I have read them 😀 I’ve got all three sitting on my bookshelves.

            I have to credit KSR for opening my rather naive eyes to the power of the corporations. I can’t think of the name of the book [not one of the Mars trilogy] that showed corporate power taken to extremes but the concept lodged in my brain and when I started researching Monsanto I suddenly remembered that book and everything changed.

            Still on the money = power theme, I doubt we’ll get to Mars until they discover something precious enough to exploit. 😦

Tell me something!

