12 comments on “Ned Kelly’s remains to be returned to his family.

    • I understand why they would have buried his remains in the prison grounds at the time. The ‘No rest for Ned’ post I did was all about the souveniring of his bones when his grave was opened in 1929. If he had been returned while feelings were still high I expect that there wouldn’t be too much left of him by now.
      I think that way enough time has passed for him to be able to be returned without it looking like he got away with anything now though.

      I wonder if the grave will become a shrine for the Ned worshippers still amongst us? I wonder what Ned would have thought of that himself?

      • True, I’m looking at it only from current perspective, and had forgotten the accompanying real-time sensation. I’d like to think Ned would enjoy his “freedom” and if a shrine (I’m sure it would be popular), thumbing his nose at any disapproving establishment.

        • He was certainly anti-establishment, I’m sure that part would appeal to him! I wonder if the family want peace and quiet or are they happy for the spotlight to be on him again?

          I also wonder how the families of non-Kellys interred in the cemetery at Greta (where I assume he will be buried) will feel about it? So many question!!! 😉

  1. I’m all for the return of Ned Kelly’s remains but I hope the family bury him well because some unscrupulous people would still see the ‘relics’ as money spinners. 😦

  2. Once again you’ve given me something very Australian to ponder! I guess he was the Jesse James of Australia? A fascinating character — if not a good one — with a legacy that continues to haunt the imagination. I plan to do some more reading about Ned Kelly.

    • There is quite a lot of literature about Ned Kelly, he is definitely a controversial figure! I often wonder how many people would recognize a photo of Ned himself as the armour he wore has taken on a life of its own.

      To me he was a figurehead for the poor masses against what they percieved as unfair authority. It was really a different time back then, people who were transported convicts, or their immediate family, would have made up much of the population. There is no way that demographic would have reacted to any show of authority in the way we do today.

      You might be interested to know that a movie was made called ‘Ned Kelly’ in 1970 with a very unlikely person playing the part of Ned… You’ll never guess who…… Mick Jagger, shown here singing ‘The Wild Colonial Boy’. I’m not going to recommend that you watch it for research purposes though 😉

    • That is another part of the Kelly mythology. In 2009 someone offered a skull as the real Kelly skull, but testing proved it not to be.
      I think that it is either in an old shed, its origins forgotten, just waiting to scare an unsuspecting spring cleaner at some time in the future, or it is being treasured by a Kelly lover, having been passed down through their own thieving family.
      Here is a link to an interesting page from the Old Melbourne Gaol site along with a clip of the forensic examination (and other stuff) of the skull.
      http://www.oldmelbournegaol.com.au/the_gaol_s_history/ned_kelly_s_bones

  3. Pingback: Ned Kelly, finally laid to rest. « Buried words and Bushwa.

Tell me something!

