20 comments on “What does an alligator keep in its liver? 1891.

  1. Just Googled ‘alligator liver’ and this blog post appears on the second page of results! However, further investigation of the anatomy of reptile livers makes me believe that they are unlikely to contain photographs… even ‘stones’ seem unlikely as it appears that the gall bladder is outside the liver in most reptiles. I think whoever was conducting the post mortem may have been lacking in some necessary skills!

    • Woo hoo! In the world of the internets that almost qualifies me as an expert! I think alligator liver might be quite a specialized field though 😉

      I can only hope the post mortem was done by an interested, yet incompetent, butcher and not the aquariums actual vet….

  2. The liver thing doesn’t sound quite right, but it did send me scurrying to look up what alligators consume, which seems to be just about everything under the sun. This news piece sounds like the start of a short story— the bit about the photograph is so intriguing! Thank you, Metan!

    • The part about the photograph is an amazing fact, assuming for the sake of argument that such a thing was actually inside the alligator. I can easily imagine someone throwing a photo into the alligator tank to see what would happen, but in such a watery environment I can’t imagine it lasting any time at all.

      I think alligators and crocodiles are much like sharks, if it is in the water it is considered food, eat first ask questions later. All the more reason to admire the view from the shore if you ask me!

      I love these articles with one fact that makes us all go “Whoa! Really? That can’t be true, I’ll have to look it up!”

      • Thiiiiiiiis!

        I think alligators and crocodiles are much like sharks, if it is in the water it is considered food, eat first ask questions later.

        You totally crack me up, Metan!

        I don’t doubt the facts of your news articles, Metan— what sends me scurrying off is the need to know more! You’re very good at lighting a fire under your readers’ curiosity!

        • Thanks! Sometimes the smallest article can take me hours to post as it has one tiny fact that I have to know more about, that leads to another subject, and another, then suddenly I know more about shrunken heads than I ever really expected to! My notebooks probably look like the train of thought of a madwoman 😀
          I love it when these stories open new doors of exploration, and it makes my day when I hear it has stirred someone else to do a bit of investigating of their own. 🙂

          • You know, I really appreciate the level of research that you do for these stories. Very much. (And I am glad you’re keeping notes. You’ve got enough great material here to pitch a book proposal!)

          • I’m not too sure about the notebooks being a good thing, they are very disjointed and frankly, if you didn’t know they related to blog research they probably make me look a little crazy!

            I can’t resist digging deeper and deeper into the stories I find. Most of the information I never use, and probably never need to know! Sometimes though…… today we were doing a mine tour and when he talked about the carbide lamps they used I immediately flashed to the exploding goat post I did and knew how the lamp would work! It was all I could do to not burst out laughing at my private vision of that unfortunate goat being plastered all over the walls of the mine though 🙂

          • I’m a notebook keeper myself, though I have a feeling that I’m not nearly as meticulous as you are. Disjointed is okay!

            I’ve never read your goat story. Can you post a link here?

  3. Hmmm…. the liver stores sugar, in humans at least, so I can’t imagine how any of those artifacts could have made their way into the liver in the first place. And just because I have a suspicious mind… why would anyone do a post mortem of a crocodile/alligator anyway?

    • I suppose that the reason for the post mortem was to find out where they went wrong in their care of it. I would suggest that mistaking a liver for the actual body part containing these artifacts means they should have brushed up on their basic anatomy before being left in charge of animals!

    • I would love to know it too. 🙂 If you were a big enough fan to have her photo in your pocket I’m not sure why you would throw it to the alligator.

    • I wish the report had identified who the dancer was too, I would love to know what her story was!

      Some tale of unrequited love and the young man, thwarted, tosses her photo to the beasts sobbing over his ruined life….. Or a pickpocket, working the aquarium, was going through his booty and finds a picture in a wallet. He tosses it over his shoulder not caring how important it was to the owner, he was just annoyed because there was no cash!

      I really have a hard time believing that it was really in there, and if not, I wonder what the motivation behind the report was? Questions questions question… 😉

Tell me something!

