9 comments on “Some brave bee lovers in 1949, and a thank you.

    • No, I suspect that since we are in the iphone era that if it occurred today it would be on youtube before anyone thought to save the queen.

  1. Yes, it would be on YOUTUBE with a musical soundtrack in no time at all. Long before anyone thought about the queen.

    My question is, what would be the sound track? Flight of the bumble bee? Or…

    • This clip is probably the soundtrack of what would happen to me in the vicinity of a swarm. Ugh, ouch, thud….

      Gonzo playing Flight of the Bumblebee. Well, attempting to anyway. Rolf on piano, Animal on club. A short and painful clip 🙂

  2. Aw, I love this post – just brilliant. The photos of old swarm catchers show how gentle swarms can be – usually because they are full, full, full of honey and want to be put in a cardboard box to be taken to a new home. That said, I wouldn’t catch a swarm without a bee suit! 🙂 Fantastic post, I think I will circulate to my bee association! 🙂

    • I’m glad you like it, circulate away! 🙂 As soon as I saw the first pictures I thought of you and your (usually) calm bees. I think the one I love the most is the man in Elizabeth Street holding the queen up in the air. I can imagine the excitement (and relief) from the crowd as she took off.
      I am still amazed that the bike bees allowed themselves to be sorted so calmly though 🙂

Tell me something!

