13 comments on “Tropical tale of the jungle. 1924.

    • I wonder if they stumbled out of the swamp weeks after their expedition began and had nothing to show for their efforts. They quickly made up a story to save face, perhaps while in a bar drowning their sorrows, never expecting it to spread so widely 🙂

    • It is a great tale and I would love to see the movie. I would have to grit my teeth and not comment, but it would be funny anyway 🙂

  1. Wherever there is a place that heavy machinery and vehicles are kept over here there’s usually a sign that warns approaching motorists ‘Beware, Heavy Plant Crossing’. Even as an adult I can’t help but imagine a Triffid coming out of the gates.
    I think you’re all far too cynical. Doubting the words of these two brave men who fought tooth and nail to bring you some scented yellow flowers. OK, they forgot them but wouldn’t you after such an ordeal. Beware, the plant lives on in the swamps just waiting for the unwary, and with humans it’s pretty p*ssed off !

    • 😀 I expect since over a hundred years have passed the plant will be well healed by now. All the hacked off tentacles have probably grown back and it has had time to nurse the grudge against humans to one of titanic proportions. I would not want to be out for a walk and stumble across it, that’s for sure!

      If I had an encounter with such a thing I would have been sure to bring back at least one of those hacked off bits for evidence, pity that they forgot, isn’t it. By the way, I hope your new phone has a camera for a quick photo when you see those Triffids coming out of the gate, that is one heavy plant I want to see! 🙂

  2. WOW. You find the most amazing stories, Metan. This one… actually had me going for a little bit. I’ve seen some of the swampy areas of Louisiana and Florida, and once you see them, you’d think that anything could live in those swamps. They are prehistoric. And freaky. Full of things that bite and crunch!

    Then I read your accompanying piece and my newfound fear of gigantic missing-link plants came crashing down. Thank goodness! Of COURSE there are holes in the story— just like you said. I just, um, chose to ignore them. That’s it.

    • Sometimes I wish I could ignore the holes and completely believe the stories like this too. Unfortunately, I was born suspicious 🙂 The world is an amazing place, and would be even more so if there really were things like these gigantic man-eating plants making walking the dog very risky.
      I still want one for my Steps of Death though, even if they aren’t real 🙂

  3. Hi! I’m new to your blog. I love studying history, so the tidbits you post here are quite interesting to me. This story of the man-eating plant is fascinating! Can’t wait to read more of your other news stories.

Tell me something!

