11 comments on “Individuality is the modern watchword. 1938.

  1. I adored this piece, Metan! I think you’ve brought up some amazing contradictions in concept of contemporary beauty. And the clip you found! How did you find that in the stacks?

    Oh, I am so happy right now!

    • Thank you! 😀 The hard part of blogging about these old articles isn’t in the finding, it is getting one that is readable and concise when I have a subject in mind. This one fit the bill perfectly, I think it must have just been waiting there for me to find!

      I love the reference to personality being essential to not only stage and screen success but also to success in the kitchen or home. Really, back in 1938 there weren’t many options for women were there?!

      I was surprised at the thoughts expressed in this article, suggesting not to fear emotion, but to crawl out of your shell. I thought back then they would have rathered a dutiful wife than an opinionated woman! I really did love the ‘study yourself-read, laugh, learn, expand.’ I think that should be a rule not a suggestion!!

      • I have the same problem with images as you do with finding articles — it’s not the idea as much as it is the right fit!

        This short article is chock-a-block with good advice!

        There was a book that came out in the 30s called “Better Than Beauty— A Guide to Charm” that I think you would love. It’s surprisingly practical. And blunt!

        Alongside the dutiful wife books, there were a lot of books like “Better Than Beauty”— I’m constantly surprised by how modern the moderns were!

  2. Morning ladies! Great post as always Metan and thank you for introducing me to Bluebird and her nosferatu moments.
    I loved your post too Courtenay Bluebird. I am hereby including you both in my list of Lovely Ladies. In fact I’m going to pinch an idea from you Bluey, I’m going to put a list of links to special blogs on my blog coz my special people need some recognition, even if it’s just on a very small blog like mine.

    Thank you both for giving me a great start to the day!

    • Good late afternoon! (I posted, then rushed off to work as usual) 🙂

      I am happy to have introduced you to Bluebird Blvd, I am sure you will find any amount of interesting posts (and dance parties) there. 🙂

      I hope you had a great day 🙂

    • You just made my morning! It’s lovely to meet you here on Metan’s blog! (And thank you for the compliment!)

      Please do pinch my idea! I love talking about wonderful people and their amazing work. (I live for moments like that!) YAY! So happy now!

      • lol – pleased to meet you too! For me the biggest joy of blogging has been the people I’ve met. I didn’t expect to find new kindred spirits but I have. 🙂

  3. Hello all. Well you had me thinking this morning ( thanks for nothing). I wondered not only about those ladies who feel they have to have surgery or something else in order to maintain their looks. Are they body dismorphic, are they vain or do they really think image is that important? It got me to thinking about those that have changes not to maintain their looks but to create them anew so that the work they have done essentially becomes the star. I think I’m talking mainly about people like Katie Price who classes her self as a model. She has no real discernable talent so is it the boob job that’s famous or her? I’m a man and to be honest the only use I could find for a pair of boobs that size is somewhere to rest my cuppa.
    Since when does plastic surgery become a star in it’s own right?
    I know there are actors and actresses anxious to stay eternally young on screen rather than grow old disgracefully like the rest of us. Do they think there are no parts for older people? I sometimes think it would be better if plastic surgery was used as intended, to help those disfigured in some way than to enhance the bank balances of some unscrupulous surgeons and enhance that which nature gave us which in most cases should be adequate. Instead we end up with a cult worship of that which isn’t even real, plazzie boobs and trout pout lips.
    I think 1938 had it right. Concentrate on the inner beauty and people shine.Concentrate on the package and the contents are apt to disappoint.

  4. Katie Price is the perfect example of being famous only for her appearance. I used the example of Nicole Kidman in my comment on Bluebird Blvd. I don’t think she can really act, and that emotionless botoxed face doesn’t help matters!

    I think that women who have this desire to change their appearance have some sort of body dismorphia, but when every magazine, advert, film clip and movie tells you that the way you look is not good enough, who can blame them for falling for it? Funnily enough, I have never met a man whose preferred type of woman is the undernourished catwalk model so many women strive to emulate!

    I think the line between changing your looks for medical reasons and egotistical reasons is a hard one to quantify. If people stare at your disfigured face in the street you have justifiable reason to want to change the way you look. If you BELIEVE people stare at you and this affects your self-esteem where is the point that one person can be changed without stigma and the other should leave well enough alone?

    I believe people should have to undergo some sort of counselling before they have such surgery, but with plastic surgeons becoming rich and famous on the back of peoples dissatisfaction with themselves it is hardly a case of ‘with great power comes great responsibility’ is it!?

    Thanks for getting me thinking too, just when I was slumped on the couch exhausted after a hard day in my unfashionable flannie and workboots!!

    • I do not understand Katie Price. She started out as a Page 6 girl, right? Then again, I don’t live in Katie Price’s world— a world in which Katie Price would not be known to us worldwide if she hadn’t gotten extreme plastic surgery.

      That’s the Catch-22 of all the Katie Prices out there, isn’t it?

      As to body dysmorphia and plastic surgery— certified plastic surgeons in the States are required to have psych evaluations done on their patients to make sure they are fit for plastic surgery. There are two problems here— one, not all plastic surgery procedures require a certified plastic surgeon (Botox, etc., can be done by dentists, believe it or not), and two, the concept of mental fitness is fairly elastic, as it should be.

      A third problem is that plastic surgery can be addictive— and you cannot tell whether a person will become increasingly addicted to the effects of plastic surgery in any initial consultation. Some certified plastic surgeons and medical professionals have fractured and dysmorphic notions themselves, so it’s hard to know how to sort this out.

      Finally, there’s fairly recent research on body dysmorphia itself that indicates it is a genuine distortion of view caused inside the brain. It tends to run along a spectrum with an extreme distortion on one end and a mild distortion on the other. And it isn’t helped by the reinforcement that extreme measures of plastic surgery are the norm amongst celebrities who get the most face-time in the media.

      Aaaaand, I am stepping off of my soapbox! Smiles to all on this fine Tuesday!

Tell me something!

