14 comments on “Mystery Ship. 1913.

    • When I read this article I wondered if there was a connection between those who reported the mystery hull and those who expect to profit from the discovery of the wreckage.

      Perhaps there is a chance that in 1913 people who overestimated their wreck-finding ability thought it might have been a quick way to make some money in salvage, giving them a motive to report a tale like this.

      • I should add that as soon as I read the article, immediately the movie poster from that dreadful movie ‘Ghost Ship’ popped into my head!

  1. You’d think that scavengers would be hard headed, money grubbing types not given to fancy. Or perhaps they were just trying to drum up some investment capital. Very strange though. Nice twist on the old story 🙂

    • That grubby money has to come from somewhere! 🙂 I think it was just as you said, trying to drum up some eager investors.

      Of course, even these days we get people who just want to be famous and will say or do anything to achieve that. What better way to get noticed back then than saying you had seen the abandoned hull of the Titanic on your travels? Who could say with certainty you didn’t?

    • It is a conundrum isn’t it? Despite my love of history and archaeology digging up burials etc always seems a little grave-robby. When that person was buried they generally expected to be left there.

      Of course we would have very little insight into people in our various histories if we didn’t take a look at how societies revered their dead. If in two thousand years time my bones were dug up and people used them to fire up discussions on our society I would be pretty happy. If they were dug up in only 20 years time and passed around, I might see it a little differently!

      I think that in the case of the Titanic people have such an interest in the story it was inevitable that when technology had advanced sufficiently we would be sending people down there for a look. Bringing back souvenirs is just human nature. I don’t like the pieces being sold into private collections though. If they are returned to the families or put in museums that seems like a much more respectful way to go about it.

      • I have a handful of shrapnel from France, where taking any detritus from the wars is illegal — all of the territory where there was fighting is holy ground.

        My excuse is that I didn’t pick it up myself, and I honor the lives that were lost.

        • I am sure that there are any amount of treasures that people have secretly stashed away. I can’t say I encourage it, but I totally understand it!

Tell me something!

