17 comments on “A lonely Easter with the crocs. 1937.

  1. If you ever come across anything that says whether the alligators were able to climb that last foot- let us know won’t you. Or rmaybe if he survived with his saddles and got where he wanted to go. It would be nice to know if the steamer passed by again a week later and found him still sitting there patiently eating the saddles and waiting for the water to recede.

    • There is a whole industry in northern Australia devoted to feeding crocodiles for the pleasure of tourists. They hold a dead chook out from a boat on a long stick, and the crocs use their tail to propel themselves vertically out of the water to snatch the feathery corpse. They can get most of their bodies above water and an average croc is over 15 feet long. All in all, I hope that when he was relieving himself he kept well back from the edge!

      After I posted this article I had a mental picture of him in the slowly rising water, toasting his imminent end with the last of his whiskey and surrounded by hundreds of crocs lured by the sound of his portable gramophone ….

    • Fancy meeting you here! I can only hope the saddles had softened up a bit by then and that he had a pinch of salt to make them more appetizing 😉

  2. You know Metan this post is really well timed as I was just wonder the other whether the floods up north had brought the alligators with them. I know the freshwater ones aren’t meant to be as dangerous as the saltwater beasts but still… looking out over a flooded plain and seeing those two beady eyes looking up at you would be every bit as scary as being in a lifeboat and watching those fins circling.

    Pity the Australian history curriculum doesn’t include fantastic stories like this one. If it had I know my knowledge of aussie history wouldn’t be confined to the Eureka stockade. Can’t even remember if they mentioned Gallipoli back then.

    You should call yourself the People’s Historian 🙂

    • Awww..thanks 🙂

      I agree, if the history we learned in school was this interesting we would have been paying attention!

      I was blessed with one set of grandparents that had arrived as 10 pound poms in the late 1950’s. They absolutely loved Australia and travelled widely.

      Weekends were often spent with them, my parents and my sister and I all crammed in their old Holden station wagon, just driving. Some of my earliest memories are of the stories Pop would tell us about the places we were visiting, tales he had winkled out of the locals.

      The ‘big history of the world’ stories we were taught at school are interesting, but the normal day to day stuff is far more real and sometimes you can almost imagine being there. Of course I wouldn’t have wanted to be on that platform in the floods!

      I remember in the big floods around Brisbane in 2011 they were warning people to stay out of the waters in case of crocs, and that people in one town had reported seeing a Bull shark swimming up one of the main streets. Eeek! I love living down south…

      • lol – we may not get crocs and funnel webs but don’t forget we get fires. I honestly don’t know which is worse. I agree about not wanting to be on that platform though; don’t think my nerves could stand the waiting!

    • I love that he also had a portable gramophone, I mean, no self respecting buffalo hunter should be without one, right? 😉

      • Absolutely not. I mean, without the gramophone it really doesn’t come across as the beginning of a particularly disturbing Hemingway novel. So…

        • I’m just seeing him, blind rolling drunk, singing at the top of his voice to the hordes of angry crocs while the lightning flashes and the thunder rolls. Just as long as he doesn’t lose his footing….

    • But wait! He would have had to have had whatever passed for gramaphone recordings as well. This was one well equpped buffalo hunter. 0.o

  3. Pingback: The Tom Cole collection. Well, the bits I have found anyway….. « Buried words and Bushwa.

Tell me something!

