2 comments on “Girvan sea monster. 1953.

  1. I was also fascinated from the history of this region and used the story of Sawney Bean for my intro about the Girvan-Monster. Today I would like to rewrite the article as the intro is too long and I would like to add some more details to the carcass itself but anyway if you’re interested in the history take a look at it (in german language but there’s a translation too left): http://www.kryptozoologie-online.de/Dracontologie/Salzwasserkryptide/girvan-kadaver.html. In short I can summarize that the carcass was burned before experts have examined it. Nevertheless pictures were shown to various scientists and all of them identifed it as basking shark. If you are confident with so called “pseudo-plesiosaurs” you will see why.

    • I didn’t realize that Sawney Bean and the Girvan monster were neighbours until I was writing this post and made the connection.

      It is a pity that the carcass was burned before it had a chance to be identified but I suppose that way it can remain a mythical sea monster and not have the story ruined by fact. It always amazes me how people immediately jump to the conclusion that an unidentified sea creature lying dead on their beach is a ‘sea monster’!

Tell me something!

