5 comments on “When you are rich, being bored is a whole different thing. 1907.

  1. This story, and your wonderful commentary, has given me a lot to consider. (Oh, the strange problems of the very rich!)

    In fact, your post has added some additional context to “Citizen Kane,” which is a movie that I like a great deal, but have never understood. Thank you for that!

    • The rich do have different problems from the rest of us, don’t they, the poor pets….. 😉

      I would rather be poor and happy than rich and miserable though. Of course, a stab at rich and happy would be nice too!

      • What’s the Fitzgerald quote? Ah! I found it on Wikiquotes!

        “Let me tell you about the very rich. They are different from you and me. They possess and enjoy early, and it does something to them, makes them soft, where we are hard, cynical where we are trustful, in a way that, unless you were born rich, it is very difficult to understand.”

        Of course, Fitzgerald’s quote is about the “born” rich, not the “I made it from nothing and now I am paranoid” rich.

Tell me something!

