11 comments on “Horrible Histories. They sing, they dance, they are hilarious.

  1. Thank you for this post! I never heard of the series, but what I saw is very funny and I can imagine that sticks into a child’s (and adults) mind.
    Wish we had history this way. I’m going to watch more of it .
    Have fun!

    • I am glad you enjoyed it. I wish history had been like that when I was growing up too. It amazes me how easily the Horrible History version of events sticks in my kids heads. One of their favourite skits was about the Roman General Pompey trying to organized a decimation of troops that ran from Spartacus. Upon requesting the soldiers put their names in a helmet he selects one and reads out ‘me mumma stinkus, does anyone know me mumma stinkus?!’ Well as you can imagine that short sentence gets dragged out all the time here now ‘me brother stinkus’ ‘me dadda stinkus’. Nevertheless, the kids now know that General Pompey was a Roman general and nobody wants to be number 10 in a decimation! (http://youtu.be/vGsPci6pL7o)

  2. I didn’t know this series, either. I’m excited to check it out. I think this sort of thing will be really helpful when I’m teaching!

    Darlena

    • That is so funny, isn’t it! And they always seem to be having so much fun with everything they do. I would love to see the outtakes 🙂

      I went straight to youtube to find a clip to add to my comment on your blog, but after watching half a dozen and loving each one more and more and still not coming to a decision I just hit post comment and ran away! Pachacuti, Spartan High School musical, Cleopatra-Lady GaGa style, The William Wallace song… Oh so many!!!

  3. Pingback: 5-Minute Dance Party [Horrible Histories— The Wives of Henry VIII] « Bluebird Blvd.

  4. Pingback: Horrible cooking…. | Buried words and Bushwa.

Tell me something!

