12 comments on “Fancy dress cycle race. 1928.

    • Just imagine how much more popular the olympics would be if some of the sports were performed burlesque? Tickets would be impossible to get and industry would grind to a standstill, with all the workers glued to the box. The medal results wouldn’t matter anymore though would they? ;)

  1. Yeah, I immediately thought that they were going to ride and remove layers at the same time, which is a pretty big feat! This sounds more like the Ministry of Silly Walks, with bicycles, which is pretty cool— but not what comes to mind with a word like burlesque. : )

    • It always amuses me when words have changed in their use over time and then I stumble upon them now, but with completely different expectations.

      • The natural shift of language and meaning is a huge fascination of mine. I like archaic words a great deal, and I try to keep running lists of weird words and their meanings. That’s one of the reasons I love your blog, Metan— you do a great job of framing out the history of change. <3 that!

        • I don’t know if you have seen the Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English by Eric Partridge. It is one of my favourites, and constantly out on the coffee table. It it so thick it is almost a table of its own. I can just pick up books like that and read them at any time, I absolutely love those old words :D

    • Those penny farthing bikes are amazing things, aren’t they? If I was to attempt to get up on one I can guarantee it would not end well :)

  2. The Mermaid parade on the boardwalk at Coney Island in New York… just google it. I think you’ll enjoy a good laugh. The annual Halloween Parade in the Village (my hood in NYC) is also a sight, but there’s nothing like the mermaids…

Tell me something!

